About Nyeri


A wealthy county with happy, healthy and secure people. 


To create and sustain an environment that unlocks the potential of the people of Nyeri to achieve progressive socio-economic growth by running an open government. 


  1. Improve productivity in agriculture and overall food and nutrition security.  
  2. Promote shared economic growth and job creation.  
  3. Enhance good governance and active citizenry.  
  4. Enhance basic infrastructure for effective service delivery.  
  5. Promote sustainable use of natural resources.  
  6. Improve financial sustainability and resilience.  
  7. Provide accessible and quality health care services.  
  8. Scale up institutional development, transformation and innovation. 


  1. Patriotism – Our devotion to the county and its aspirations will be manifested in what we say and what we do. 
  2. Innovativeness – We nurture and support creativity and the development of new ideas, products and processes in delivery of services. 
  3. Teamwork We deliberately work together, collaboratively and across sectors to deliver services to the citizens of Nyeri and win their approval. 
  4. Integrity – We are open, honest and trustworthy in dealing with all our stakeholders and especially the citizenry at all times. 
  5. Accountability – We honor our commitments to our stakeholders by doing what we say we will do.


Nyeri county is located in the former Central Province of Kenya about 153km North of Nairobi. It has a population of 759,164(based on the 2019 census) and has its headquarters in Nyeri town.

The county is strategically placed in the fertile and densely populated highlands with Mt. Kenya lying to the East and Aberdare lying to the West. Nyeri county is bordered by Kirinyaga county to the East, Nyandarua to the West, Muranga to South, Laikipia to the North and Meru county to the North East. 

Nyeri County is composed of 8 sub-counties and 30 wards. The sub-counties include: Kieni East, Kieni West, Mathira East, Mathira West, Nyeri Central, Mukurweini, Tetu and Othaya. The wards include: Aguthi, Chinga, Dedan Kimathi, Endarasha/Mwiyogo, Gakawa, Gatarakwa, Gatitu/Muruguru, Gikondi, Iriani (Mathira), Iriaini (Othaya), Kabaru, Kamakwa/Mukaro, Karatina, Karima, Kiganjo/Mathari, Kirimukuyu, Konyu, Magutu, Mahiga, Mugunda, Mukurweini-Central, Mukurweini-West, Mweiga, Narumoru/Kiamathaga, Rugi, Ruguru, Ruringu, Rware, Thegu and Wamagana.